Visible Jesus

Posted: September 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

I wonder how different my life would be if I witnessed the crucifixion of Jesus. Don’t get me wrong, I believe fully that it happend. However I can only imagine what was going through the minds of all who saw it first hand. I know God gave us His Word and the Holy Spirit here on earth to know him, which is awesome!

As I was talking with a friend last night I was telling him that God wanted his heart. I told him that God is not about a 15 minute devotion once a day (works), but he wants us to abide in him fully (all of our heart). I gave the illustration of the bloody beaten Jesus pointing at him and saying: “this is for you”. If we physically saw that, how different would our faith look?

The truth is that just because we didn’t see it with our own eyes, it doesn’t mean it is any less real or true today! Jesus died the worst possible human death for all of us. If we could somehow have that same crazy love for Him and others, the world would be forever changed! If we could love Him not out of duty or works, but because he first loved us and because we simply can’t help it, people would come to know Him daily!

How much if your faith is based on works?

Do you live like the crucified Jesus is pointing at you?

How can you grow in your love for God today?

Comments
  1. Terri says:

    Kris, I love the illustration about Jesus, bloody and beaten looking down at me from the cross and pointing at me, saying, “this is for you.” Well, saying I love it is the wrong word. It’s in-expressively humbling. I’ve often wondered if during His last hours like that, if I would’ve even been standing there at His feet. Or would I have been too scared to have followed Him all the way up that hill. Great thoughts! Keep writing like that!!
    Terri

  2. Loren Paul Miller says:

    Kris,
    I love the idea on what can you do to grow God’s love in your life TODAY…for me lately it has been opening my eyes to little blessings that are examples of God working in the family of man….like the man and women exercise walking around a church parking lot side by side smiling and engaged in conversation as they go..or the complete stranger today that paid for the old persons $11 worth of groceries when that old person couldn’t remember the password on her ATM card…my shame for not thinking of it..my sympathy for her sister waiting for her who wouldn’t pay it… or maybe couldn’t….Our President who finally..in a town meeting in New Mexico..confessed his acceptance of Jesus Christ as his Lord And Savior and what that faith means in his walk in public service…when 60% of American voters think he is either an atheist or a Muslim. God bless him for that and I feel relieved to know that my prayers for our leader may be answered…mark my words..this small event..widely unreported will be the beginning of a more successful America…Best political news I have got in a long time. Please pray with me that it can be…In fact I think I’ll e-mail him right now…if you open your eyes to “it”..and to just more than one “it’..God is at work everywhere and alive in me.

Leave a Reply

